SAA Seeks Nominations for 2018 Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award

Sr. M. Claude Lane, O.P., Catholic Archives of Texas
The Society of American Archivists’ Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the Sister M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award. This award recognizes individuals who have made a significant contribution to the field of religious archives. Criteria for nomination include:

Involvement and work in the Archivists of Religious Collections Section (ARCS) of the Society of American Archivists.

  • Contributions to archival literature that relates to religious archives. 
  • Participation and leadership in religious archives organizations. 
  • Evidence of leadership in specific religious archives. 

Only individual archivists are eligible for nomination. The award is sponsored by the Society of Southwest Archivists, in conjunction with Society of American Archivists. It is named in honor of Sister M. Claude Lane, the first professionally trained archivist at the Catholic Archives of Texas in Austin, who served there from 1960 until her death in 1974. The award finalist is recognized with a certificate from SAA and a $300 cash prize provided by the Society of Southwest Archivists at the annual Society of American Archivists meeting.

For more information on the Lane Award, including past winners, see:

To nominate an archivist for the Lane Award please follow the guidelines provided in the Nomination Form via the link on that page.

All nominations shall be submitted to the Awards Committee by February 28, 2019.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Helen Thomas
Outreach Archivist
Museums, Archives and Rare Books
Kennesaw State University